A Love Letter to My Husband on Valentine’s Day!

Dearest Keith:

Very few people meet and marry their soulmate. We were among the fortunate people who experienced that deep love, an amazing understanding of each other, that incredible respect and passion. We had a love that people only dream of having. This didn’t happen by accident. We continually worked on our marriage. Our love got deeper and deeper through the years and we weathered several difficult times in our marriage and came out stronger and more committed to each other.

I miss so many things about you. I miss how you looked at me…as if I was the most beautiful woman on the planet. I miss how you would leave me phone messages during the day just to tell me that you were thinking of me. I miss you calling me “my love.” I miss the cards and letters you would write me…just because. I loved how you never left the house without kissing me goodbye and telling me that you adored me. I miss watching you walk in the door at the end of a long day, walk towards me with that sure swagger and kissing me, and telling you missed me even if you had only been gone a few hours. I miss our pillow talk and how you could finish my sentences. You were the person who could calm me down with a simple hug and kiss, telling me that everything was going to be okay and I knew it would be.

I remember the day we got married. You had found this amazing mansion in Lake Tahoe right on the beach and rented it for Valentine’s Day weekend. We invited 12 of our closest friends to join us. We surprised them all by having a wedding. Who knew that there would be a blizzard and the power and water would go out. As I cried because I felt our wedding day was ruined, you held me in your arms and told me that you would marry me in my pajamas, with no make up and with bed head hair. This was about us and our start to our new life together, not how stunning I could look. You kissed me and the power suddenly went back on. We laughed and I hurried to get ready to be your bride.

One year when things were financially hard, we worked so well as a team to get through that year. I remember you saying to me, “If we lost everything, I know we will be okay…because we have each other.” I knew that was true. We could weather any storm together.

Our New Year Dream Boards were one of the highlights of each year. We sat for hours cutting, pasting, talking and laughing as we built the vision for our life and where we wanted to be by next year. I was the typical “fly by the seat of your pants” planner, frantically clipping from all the magazines and you had your neat file and all the clippings you had saved for months to build our board. And even with these differences, we were the perfect match.

I loved that you planned two vacations each year just to be with me alone. With three active children and busy schedules, we kept our relationship alive and fresh. You were so committed to doing this. I loved our Saturday morning ritual of sitting on the patio and talking about our relationship. We never ran out of things to talk about…ever.

You were so committed to me and the children that when your job took you away from home too often, you decided that you needed to switch jobs. I know that your new job was not as exciting or rewarding, but your commitment to me and the kids came first…and I will always love you for that sacrifice.

I miss the laughter you brought into our lives, and the childlike way you played with the children. I loved teasing you and tell you that you were my fourth child. We miss all the crazy things you did. You brought the fun into our lives.

I know that I was lucky to be loved by such a wonderful man. I miss you terribly, but I will cherish these memories forever. Thank you for loving me so completely.

All my love,

Jeannine

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kelly DeBlander on February 14, 2012 at 9:48 pm

    That is such a beautiful letter Jeannine!!! You truly had a soul mate in Keith!! Cherish the memories for they will last forever. Thank you for sharing such a heartwarming letter!!! You are such an inspiration to me!! Miss you and take care, Kelly

    Reply

  2. Few people are so lucky to have that kind of love in their lives. For sure, all those memories will remain in your heart forever.

    Reply

  3. Absolutley beautiful letter Jeannine. Thank you for sharing. I can feel your love for Keith.You two were an amazing couple! May Keith’s spirit and love be strong and present in your heart and soul forever. You’re an amazing woman and have touched my life in many ways. Love & peace to you, Leisa

    Reply

  4. Posted by Cherie Flanagan on February 19, 2012 at 5:28 am

    Awesome letter Jeannine. Reading this helps me appreciate how close the two of you were. How unselfish & thoughtful Keith was. How deeply he loved you and you him. The two of you were truly blessed. May you go on and find someone new, that is as wonderful as Keith. You have the patience, the foresight, communication skills & experience to do so. That is clearly evident. Thank you for sharing.

    Love & hugs,
    Cherie

    Reply

  5. Posted by aaliyah on July 3, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    thank you so much for posting this… it is absolutely beautiful. you have no idea how your letter has affected my life… makes me appreciate my husband so much more. thank you so much

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,554 other followers

