Dr. Colorado Has Dazzled Me!

imageSo, I am thinking about meeting a dentist from Colorado.  Is it possible to have relationship work long distance? Is it possible to get to know someone from afar? I have always said NO. Anyone can pretend to be who they want to be. When you visit, it is like vacation and not really the normal building relationship process. I guess I always compared it it that show the Bachelor/Bachelorette. It is not a real environment with everyday issues and challenges.  Could I be wrong? Is it possible that I might miss an opportunity to meet a great guy?

When you are dating long distance, you have to make a real effort to talk on the phone, FaceTime or Skype. And then, there is always the question of whar each of you is doing when you are not together. There has to be incredible trust.  How do you build that from afar? Do you blindly give them your trust and hope they are trustworthy?

I ask these questions because I have met someone who lives in Colorado and I think he is pretty terrific…from afar.  Is it possible that my openness can overcome the miles between us? We have not moved beyond the basic getting to know you questions, but in the process, he has shown me a very sweet side. Sent me pictures of his adorable granddaughter.  He can brag about her all day! I like that.

He seems to be attentive (from afar),funny, witty and he is well-educated. This handsome devil is a dentist.  Note to self: get teeth whitening strips before meeting Dr. Colorado.

So, if you have had experience dating someone long distance, can you let me know what worked and some pitfalls to watch out for if I decide to meet Dr. Colorado.

Jeannine Kaiser, Dating and Relationship Expert, Author of Cupid’s Playbook

Leave a comment